27 june 2004.205 pm

ZOUNDS YOUTH ROCK MINISTRY

PASTOR AND LEAD SINGER FRED "SKEET" HOSKINS

Dawg... wuzzup with your 'stache?

There's been some talkin' 'bout my mustache. Some of you think it's a wack dye job, but that's straight up not true. Let me give you the 411 about my 'stache... Back in 1995, when I turned away from my former lifestyle and let Christ into my heart, His transforming power was so totally awesome that my hair turned grey -- almost overnight, no jawsin' -- but my mustache miraculously stayed black! I knew this had to be a sign from God... but what was He tryin' to tell me? After a lot of thinkin' and prayin' I worked it out: ya see, the grey hair represents the wisdom that God has given me with all that I have lived through, and the black hair represents my connection with youth. Since the youthful hair is over my mouth, that means He wants me to speak to the youths! It was then that I knew that God's plan for me was to found a youth ministry, to help guide kids away from the mistakes that I made when I was their age. And that's how Zounds was born!

Howdja get the nickity-nack "Skeet"?

Back in the day, I used to refer to my mustache as "my mosquito," because it was so "fly" (that's how we used to talk back then.) So my "homies" (that's what we used to call our dawgs,) started calling me "Mosquito," which soon became "Skeeter" and ended up being just "Skeet."

THE LORD IS JAWSOME